Running With Fire Ministries

“God is Love” (Pt 1) | September 13, 2012

     As I’ve been sitting with the Lord these past few days, Proverbs 30:5 came to me and the Holy Spirit said, “Park here, I want to speak to you from this verse.” The NASB says, “Every word of God is tested. He is a shield to those who take refuge in him.” As I look back over 35 years of walking with my God, I have tested God’s Word for my own spiritual growth, health, finances, etc. There was always a battle before the victory. Let me expalin: you see, I was raised Catholic and I was an altar boy and wanted someday to be a priest .The teachings of Catholicism wew heavily ingrained in me such as lighting candles, praying for the dead, praying the rosary, confessing your sins to a priest in order to receive communion. The teachings I received basically taught me that I had to earn my way to salvation; so, when I heard and read John 3:16 (For God so loved the world, that He sent His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life) and Ephesians 2:8-9 (For by grace are ye saved through faith: and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast), that salvation was a free gift from God – I couldn’t believe it. I felt I had to work/help God out to obtain salvation. Then, to top it off, I was a wicked man and headed for divorce. I battled in my heart and mind with the thought that “God is love”, and that God loved me even though I was so sinful.

     I thought to myself, “why would God give his son for me, a wicked, mean and sinful man? God can’t really love me. I’ve hurt my wife and my kids.” It was tearing me up inside. How far I had fallen in sin. But John 3:16 assured me of God’s love. WOW! In awe and wonder I would sit with my bible open to that scripture. God loves me. It was so deep, I couldn’t fathom it in my mind. I had to receive it by faith.

     Looking back over all these years I know now that the enemy of my soul, satan, the master deciever, was trying to torment me with my past, telling me that God didn’t love me, couldn’t love me, and surely couldn’t forgive a sinner like me. He tried to convince me that I was too far gone. I began searching the scriptures – God’s holy Word – for help. I stood on Colossians 1:14 (In whom we have redemption through his blood, [even] the forgiveness of sins).

     I testify to you this day: I have tested God’s Word and found it to be faithful and true.


Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other subscribers

    Our Mission

    Volunteer/Support